## NEWS ON THE 38th ANNUAL GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NMS

The Nepal Mathematical Society (NMS) has organized its 38<sup>th</sup> Annual General Assembly at Central Department of Mathematics, Tribhuvan University, Kirtipur on Saturday **July 30, 2016** (Shrawan 15, 2073). The program was divided into TWO sessions: Opening session (11.30 – 12.30 pm) and General session (1.30 – 3. 30 pm). The rapporters of both the sessions were Prof. Dr. Raj Narayan Yadav and Prof. Dr. Chinta Mani Pokharel. The participants were past presidents of NMS, NMS life members, Professors, mathematics teachers, M.Phil. Students, representatives of professional societies, press reporters and students.

In the opening session, Prof. Keshav Sitaula gave his welcome address. The chairperson of this session was the president of NMS Prof. Dr. Tanka Nath Dhamala. The past president of NMS Prof. Dr. Ram Man Shrestha and Prof. Dr. Bhadra Man Tuladhar jointly inaugurated by lightning the lamp. Mr. Khagendra Adhikari helped for National Anthem. The program was blessed with valuable remarks from Prof. Dr. Prakash Muni Bajracharya, Director of TU School of Mathematical Sciences, Prof. Dr. Francesco Papalardi, University Roma Tre, Italy & Scientific coordinator, IMU Nepal Algebra Project, Prof. Dr. Kedar Nath Upreti, HoD, TU Central Department of Mathematics, Prof. Dr. Chet Raj Bhatta, Assistant Dean, TU Institute of Science & Technology, Prof. Dr. Bhadra Man Tuladhar founder member of Kathmandu University, Prof. Dr. Ram Man Shrestha, President of Nepal Mathematics Center, Prof. Dr. Dev Bahadr Khadka, President of Nepal Chemical Society and Dean of School of Science, Mid-Western University and finally by Prof. Dr. Tanka Nath Dhamala, President of Nepal Mathematical Society and Chairman of this session. On this occasion, Mr. Ananda Krishna Shrestha, the CEO of Sukunda Publication, Kathmandu donated a bank draft of NRS 35,000/- in favor of NMS to Mr. Tulasi Nepal, the treasure of NMS. The vote of thanks was given by Prof. Dr. Narayan Prasad Pahari. Prof. Dr. Kanhaiya Jha was the MC of this session.

In the second general session only for NMS members, Mr. Khagendra Adhikari was MC and Prof. Dr. Tanka Nath Dhamal was the chairperson of this session. There were brief presentations about its members, objectives, activities and future plan from the NMS subcommittees namely, **Technical Aspect** by Dr. Urmila Pyakurel; **Profile Collection** of Senior Nepalese Mathematicians by Ganesh Bahadur Basnet; **Collecting and Updating** the contact details by Mr. Khagendra Adhikari; **NMS Activities** by Ms. Gita Shrestha and **Talk Program** by Prof. Dr. Narayan Prasad Pahari. The NMS Secretary Prof. Dr. Kanhaiya Jha presented his annual report and the NMS treasurer Mr. Tulasi Prasad Nepal presented his financial report. During an interaction program, the NMS life members Dr. Eka Ratna Acharya, Mrs. Dhana Kumari Thapa, Mr. Jeevan Gnewali, Dr. Manoj Kumar Raut, Mr. Suresh Kumar Yadav, Mr. Kumar Subedi, Prof. Ram man Shrestha raised some valuable queries & suggestions on these reports. The President Prof. Dr. Dhamala clarified the queries and informed the future plan and forth coming activities of NMS. Finally, Ms. Gita Shrestha gave the vote of thanks.

NMS EC members thank to all members for their presence and kind cooperation during this program.

## **Some Photos of NMS-GA 2016**











